Setup Menus in Admin Panel


About Civil Services

NICE-IAS provides for guidance in the preparation for civil services examination, popularly known as IAS exam, conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and various state service commissions to recruit on administrative jobs at centre and state respectively. In most of the cases, State Service commissions follow the pattern and syllabus as adopted by UPSC.


UPSC conducts examination for recruitment to the various civil services of the Govt. of India, including Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS), Indian Revenue Service (IRS), and others. The services are divided into All India Services, which includes the first three (IAS, IPS and IFS) and Central Services. The central services are further divided into Group “A” and Group “B” services.

The examination is conducted in three Stages:

Stage I

Stage II

Stage III

Stage I:

Preliminary examination – This is qualifying test held in May/June every year. Notification for this is published in January/February. Results are published in the first half of August. It consists of two objective type papers; General Studies and Aptitude test (CSAT), each of 200 marks and compulsory for all candidates. It’s more of a screening type. Around 12 to 13 times of the number of vacancy, candidates are screened to appear in Mains examination.

Stage II: Main examination – This is the main test, held in October/November every year. Results are usually published in the second week of March. It consists of Seven papers of subjective nature. The First paper consists of Essay of 250 Marks, and to be written in the language of choice. The next Four papers are of General studies, each of 250 marks each:

  • GS I (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society); GS II (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations); GS III ( Technology, Economic Development, Bio diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management); GS IV: (Ethics, Integrity, and Aptitude). Essay and the 4 GS papers are common for all candidates appearing in the exam. Next two papers are of one optional subjects selected from a list of subjects prescribed by UPSC. Each paper is of 250 marks. This way, the main examination is of 1750 marks. About twice the
    number of vacancies in that year, the candidates are selected for the personality test. It has been observed that candidates securing in the range 45% – 50% and above marks in main examination are called for personality test.
  • Besides, there are two qualifying papers; one of English and the second, any one language mentioned in the list in schedule 8 of
    Indian constitution.

Stage III: Personality Test (Interview) – It is the final test and is held in March/April every year. It is of 275 marks. Final results are usually announced a few days before the next preliminary Exam. The combined marks of mains examination and personality test prepare the merit list of finally selected candidates.

About Nice IAS

NICEIAS is a premier coaching center that offers top-notch guidance and preparation for the UPSC Civil Services Examination, helping aspirants achieve their dreams. At NICEIAS We are committed to guiding you through the diverse concepts and theories of Sociology. With a well-structured curriculum, we cover a wide range of topics such as social structure, gender issues, and the dynamics of social change.

Template Design © VibeThemes. All rights reserved.